100 to Watch


The National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) is proud to present the 2015 Inaugural Cohort of 100 Black LGBTQ/SGL Emerging Leaders to Watch, representing a consortium of standout leaders, who self-identify as Black lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, gender non-confirming and/or same-gender loving (LGBTQ/SGL). These young leaders are innovators, entrepreneurs, academics, thought leaders, trendsetters, social justice warriors, pundits and scholars. They deserve a higher platform of exposure and recognition for their leadership, and desire to help shape the future of our country and world. At NBJC, we recognize that we stand on the shoulders of giants, like Bayard Rustin, Audre Lorde and Marsha P. Johnson, who dedicated their lives to the cause for justice. At the same time, we recognize the importance of celebrating the extraordinary work of young, Black LGBTQ/SGL people leading the modern fight for justice and equality.


Gabriel Acevero Malcolm "MJ" Harris Adrian Ogle
L'lerrét Jazelle Ailith Jonathan Paul Higgins Casey Payton
Kye Allums Justin L. Hill Angela Peoples
Brandon Anderson Keith Howard-Streicher Jeff Perkins
Guy Anthony Patrick Ingram Jessica Pierce
Dr. Van Bailey Sheila E. Isong Ace Portis
Annanda Barclay Romeo Jackson Anna DeShawn Rainey
Katie Barnes Jai...with the funny name Faith A. Rogers
Devin Barrington-Ward Latishia AV James Gwen Rogers
Ms. Cherno Biko Bakari Jones Matthew Rose
Michael J. Brewer Venton C. Jones Jr. Blake A. Rowley
Kelsi Brooks King Victoria Diane Kirby Gabrielle Royal
Sixto Cancel Rev. Joseph Lynn Kitchen Jr. Brittney R. Sims
Charlene A. Carruthers Terrance Laney Funmilayo Solar
Bryce J. Celotto Cedric Lawson Lawrence A. Stallworth II
Imara Rhiannon Chester Marcus Lee Danielle Stevens
Kevin Claybren Riann Lippe Desiree Elise Stevens
Theara I. Coleman Jonathan Lykes Karess Taylor-Hughes
Jasmine Cornell Brandon Mack Marvell Terry, II
Natasha Amanda Cox Gabriel Maldonado Joshua Maximillian Turner
Ashlee J. Davis Samantha Master DaShawn Usher
Gregory K. Davis, JD Calandra "CeCe" McGee Shaan Michael Wade
Wazi Maret Davis Kimberley McLeod Jason L. Walker
Rev. E. Taylor Doctor Trinice McNally Sean A. Watkins
Monique Dorsainvil Preston D. Mitchum Michael C. Webb, Jr.
Daniel D. Driffin Jonathan Jacob Moore Francisco Luis White
Timothy DuWhite Leo Moore, MD Meico Whitlock
Branden D. Elmore Monica Motley Je-Shawna Wholley
Nathaniel Faulk P.J. Moton Toni-Michelle Williams
Michael Blair Franklin, Jr. Rev. Whittney Murphy Isaiah Wilson
Pamgrace Gachenge Joshua T. Nelson Tabias Wilson
Noël Gordon David A. Nelson, Jr. Lakesha K. Winley
Samantha A. Grant Vanessa Newman Corey Yarbrough
Dr. Kai M. Green Rodney K. Nickens, Jr.  


NBJC's Emerging Leaders Initiative was created with the generous support of the Arcus Foundation.